Free LLM API tiers
Limits read from each provider's own pages on 2 Nov 2026
Of the 16 LLM API providers we checked on 2 Nov 2026, 7 have an ongoing free tier: Google Gemini API, Mistral AI, Groq, Cohere, Cloudflare Workers AI, SambaNova Cloud and NVIDIA NIM API catalog. OpenRouter has free models within daily limits; Anthropic API, Cerebras Inference and Fireworks AI give a one-off signup credit; OpenAI API, DeepSeek API, SpaceXAI (Grok API), Together AI and Hugging Face Inference Providers have no free use.
| Provider | Free use | Card needed | What you get |
|---|---|---|---|
| Google Gemini API | Free tier | No | Free use of some Gemini models through AI Studio, with no billing set up. |
| Mistral AI | Free tier | No | A Free mode on La Plateforme for testing and prototyping, with no card. |
| Groq | Free tier | No | A Free plan with published limits per model. |
| Cohere | Free tier | No | A trial key for every new account, for every Cohere model. |
| Cloudflare Workers AI | Free tier | Not stated | 10,000 Neurons a day free, Cloudflare's compute unit, across the model catalogue. |
| SambaNova Cloud | Free tier | No | Free use of hosted open models until you link a payment method. |
| NVIDIA NIM API catalog | Free tier | Not stated | Hosted models on build.nvidia.com for prototyping, with a free developer account. |
| OpenRouter | Free models | No | Models whose ID ends in :free cost nothing per token, within account-wide limits. |
| Anthropic API | Signup credit | Not stated | A small free credit for new users; the amount is not published. |
| Cerebras Inference | Signup credit | Yes | $5 of credit for a new account with a verified payment method, valid 30 days. |
| Fireworks AI | Signup credit | No | A $1 starter credit; after that, prepaid credits. |
| OpenAI API | No free use | Yes | Prepaid credits before the first call; only the Moderation endpoint is free. |
| DeepSeek API | No free use | Not stated | Prepaid top-ups; no standing free allowance is published. |
| SpaceXAI (Grok API) | No free use | Not stated | Credits are added before the first call; no free credit is published. |
| Together AI | No free use | Yes | No free trial: access starts with a $15 credit purchase. |
| Hugging Face Inference Providers | No free use | Yes | No credit on a free account; paid PRO, Team and Enterprise plans include $2 a month. |
Free tiers
Google Gemini API
Free tierFree use of some Gemini models through AI Studio, with no billing set up.
- Free models include Gemini 3.8 Flash, 3.6 Flash, 3.5 Flash-Lite and 2.5 Pro; Gemini 4 Argon is not free
- Requests and tokens per minute and per day: not published; each project sees its own limits in AI Studio
- Daily quotas reset at midnight Pacific time, per project
- Payment method needed: No
Your data. Free-tier prompts and responses are used to improve Google products and may be read by human reviewers, except in the EEA, Switzerland and the UK.
Terms. Listed regions only, and 18 or older. Apps offered to users in the EEA, Switzerland or the UK must use the paid tier.
Read 2 Nov 2026 from Gemini API rate limits, Gemini API billing, Gemini API pricing · Google models on BenchLeader
Mistral AI
Free tierA Free mode on La Plateforme for testing and prototyping, with no card.
- Capped on requests per second, tokens per minute and tokens per month; the numbers are shown only on the console's Limits page
- Payment method needed: No
Your data. Free-mode input and output may be used to train Mistral's models unless you opt out in the admin panel.
Read 2 Nov 2026 from Activate and generate an API key, Usage limits · Mistral AI models on BenchLeader
Groq
Free tierA Free plan with published limits per model.
- gpt-oss-120b: 30 requests a minute, 1,000 a day, 8,000 tokens a minute, 200,000 a day
- Qwen3.8 27B: the same 30 / 1,000 / 8,000 / 200,000
- Limits apply per model, per organisation; Groq says exceptions are possible
- Payment method needed: No
Your data. Groq says it does not retain inference data by default.
Read 2 Nov 2026 from Rate limits (Free plan tab), Billing FAQ
Cohere
Free tierA trial key for every new account, for every Cohere model.
- 1,000 API calls a month
- Chat models: 20 requests a minute; Rerank: 10 a minute; Embed: 2,000 inputs a minute
- Payment method needed: No
Terms. Trial keys may not be used for production or commercial purposes.
Read 2 Nov 2026 from Rate limits, Pricing · Cohere models on BenchLeader
Cloudflare Workers AI
Free tier10,000 Neurons a day free, Cloudflare's compute unit, across the model catalogue.
- 10,000 Neurons a day; each model's token-to-Neuron rate is on the pricing page
- Text generation: 300 requests a minute by default
- Some models need a paid plan, among them Kimi K2.6, GLM 5.3 and DeepSeek V4 Pro
- Payment method needed: Not stated
Read 2 Nov 2026 from Workers AI pricing, Workers AI limits
SambaNova Cloud
Free tierFree use of hosted open models until you link a payment method.
- 20 requests a minute, 20 a day and 200,000 tokens a day, per model (DeepSeek-V3.1, Llama 3.3 70B, gpt-oss-120b; preview models the same)
- Payment method needed: No
Terms. Linking a payment method moves the account to the paid Developer tier.
Read 2 Nov 2026 from Rate limits
NVIDIA NIM API catalog
Free tierHosted models on build.nvidia.com for prototyping, with a free developer account.
- Rate limits: not published
- Payment method needed: Not stated
Terms. NVIDIA Developer Program members only; prototyping, research and testing, not production, which needs an NVIDIA AI Enterprise licence.
Read 2 Nov 2026 from NVIDIA NIM, NIM API docs · NVIDIA models on BenchLeader
Free models
OpenRouter
Free modelsModels whose ID ends in :free cost nothing per token, within account-wide limits.
- 20 requests a minute across :free models
- 50 requests a day until the account has bought 10 credits in total, then 1,000 a day
- Payment method needed: No
Your data. Depends on the provider serving the model; account settings control whether free models may be routed to providers that train on prompts.
Read 2 Nov 2026 from API limits, FAQ
Signup credit only
Anthropic API
Signup creditA small free credit for new users; the amount is not published.
- Credit amount and expiry: not published
- New organisations may start below the standard rate limits; the numbers are not published
- Payment method needed: Not stated
Read 2 Nov 2026 from Pricing, How API usage is billed, Rate limits · Anthropic models on BenchLeader
Cerebras Inference
Signup credit$5 of credit for a new account with a verified payment method, valid 30 days.
- $5, expiring 30 days after it is granted
- gpt-oss-120b on the trial: 5 requests a minute, 30,000 uncached tokens a minute, 1M tokens a day
- Payment method needed: Yes
Terms. No permanent free tier: after the credit, pay-as-you-go.
Read 2 Nov 2026 from Rate limits
Fireworks AI
Signup creditA $1 starter credit; after that, prepaid credits.
- $1; expiry not published
- 10 requests a minute with no payment method or no credit left
- Payment method needed: No
Read 2 Nov 2026 from When the $1 credit runs out, Account quotas · Fireworks AI models on BenchLeader
No free use
OpenAI API
No free usePrepaid credits before the first call; only the Moderation endpoint is free.
- Minimum credit purchase $5; credits expire after a year
- The lowest usage tier is capped at $100 a month, in allowed countries
- Payment method needed: Yes
Read 2 Nov 2026 from Prepaid API billing, Rate limits and usage tiers · OpenAI models on BenchLeader
DeepSeek API
No free usePrepaid top-ups; no standing free allowance is published.
- The billing rules mention a granted balance but give no amount; the minimum top-up is not published
- Payment method needed: Not stated
Read 2 Nov 2026 from Models and pricing · DeepSeek models on BenchLeader
SpaceXAI (Grok API)
No free useCredits are added before the first call; no free credit is published.
- Accounts start at the lowest rate-limit tier; per-model limits are shown in the console
- Payment method needed: Not stated
Read 2 Nov 2026 from Quickstart, Rate limits · SpaceXAI models on BenchLeader
Together AI
No free useNo free trial: access starts with a $15 credit purchase.
- $15 minimum first purchase, $5 after that
- Payment method needed: Yes
Read 2 Nov 2026 from Billing and credits · Together AI models on BenchLeader
Hugging Face Inference Providers
No free useNo credit on a free account; paid PRO, Team and Enterprise plans include $2 a month.
- Free accounts: no monthly credit
- PRO: $2 a month; Team and Enterprise: $2 per seat a month
- Payment method needed: Yes
Read 2 Nov 2026 from Inference Providers pricing · Hugging Face models on BenchLeader
How this page is kept
Every limit is read from the provider's own documentation, pricing or help pages on the date shown, and links to them. When a provider shows a number only inside its logged-in console, or does not state it, we say so and leave it unpublished; nothing is filled in from forums or other trackers. API credits that come with a paid subscription (ChatGPT Pro, Claude Max, Hugging Face PRO) are paid plans, not free tiers, and are left out.
Closed: GitHub Models (30 Jul 2026). The playground, catalogue and inference API closed; GitHub points users to Azure AI Foundry or GitHub Copilot. Source
Once you pay, the cost calculator prices a month of your usage on every ranked model, and coding plans compares flat-rate subscriptions.
Free LLM APIs: questions people ask
- Which LLM APIs have a free tier?
- Google Gemini API, Mistral AI, Groq, Cohere, Cloudflare Workers AI, SambaNova Cloud and NVIDIA NIM API catalog offer ongoing free use within limits. OpenRouter has free models; Anthropic API, Cerebras Inference and Fireworks AI give a one-off credit. Checked on 2 Nov 2026.
- Is there a free LLM API for production use?
- Not really: free tiers are rate-limited for testing. Cohere's trial keys and NVIDIA's API catalog rule out production or commercial use outright, and Google requires the paid tier for apps offered in the EEA, Switzerland and the UK. Plan on a paid tier for anything users depend on.
- Do free tiers use my prompts for training?
- Some do. Google Gemini API: Free-tier prompts and responses are used to improve Google products and may be read by human reviewers, except in the EEA, Switzerland and the UK. Mistral AI: Free-mode input and output may be used to train Mistral's models unless you opt out in the admin panel. OpenRouter: Depends on the provider serving the model; account settings control whether free models may be routed to providers that train on prompts. Read each provider's terms before sending anything private.
- Which free API has the best models?
- Google's free tier includes current Gemini Flash models, and OpenRouter has free variants of some models. Compare what each scores on the BenchLeader Index before you build on it; the free model is rarely the provider's best one.
- How often do free tiers change?
- Often, and usually without notice. Every row here was read from the provider's own page on 2 Nov 2026; where a provider shows a number only inside its console, the row says it is not published rather than guess.
What changed (1)
- 2 Nov 2026: First published: 16 providers read from their own pages.